How I made $140 - No Website, No Logo, all built in public (starting another challenge today..)

·

3 min read

Hey everyone!

I did a challenge to launch a startup (SaaS) in 7 days (it was successful).

It’s called SaaSDojo, a place to find your design inspiration (Sorta like a dribble but for SaaS!)..

pic

Here are the raw numbers:

  • +$140 in sales (2% conversion rate)

  • +500 followers on Twitter

  • +100k+ total Twitter views

The More Notable Days:

Day 1: https://twitter.com/pwang_szn/status/1631312569154560000?s=20

Day 3: https://twitter.com/pwang_szn/status/1631610460738064386?s=20

Day 6: https://twitter.com/pwang_szn/status/1633156803516329985?s=20

Gumroad screenshot

Not bad, huh? I did all of this without creating a logo... and without creating a aethstetic landing page.

It was a pure focus on the product and marketing its benefits to the end user. I built the entire thing on my Twitter which built a lot of trust to the community.

Anyways, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. ☀️

My Mistakes in the Challenge

1) Lack of Proper Planning

One of the mistakes I made was not properly planning out the project in terms of its features. While I had an idea in mind, I should have planned out exactly which feature should and should not have been included in the MVP.

2) Lack of Proper Marketing

I relied solely on marketing SaaSDojo on my Twitter. For future projects, I need to have a comprehensive marketing plan.. that isn’t just shitposting on Twitter..

My Personal Learnings from The Challenge:

1) Accountability is Huge🧍

One of the biggest takeaways from The Challenge is that accountability is a huge motivator. There were days when I didn't feel like coding, but the pressure to post an update drove me to do it anyway.

On Day Four, for example, I went out to a club and returned home at 2:00 a.m., but I stayed up coding because I knew I had to post an update for that day. Without the challenge, I wouldn't have stayed up.

2) Community is valuable ⭐

Regarding community, I've learned that it is essential to foster relationships early on. As I run this project, I have a sizable following on Twitter (currently at 1,200), with a lot of recent growth from posting about the challenge. About 25% of my sales came from people I actively talk to on Twitter. Building a community and having people support you every day is priceless.

3) Momentum 🏃

Lastly, momentum is critical. Many developers and SaaS owners don't talk about it, but when you have momentum, you're unstoppable. You always want to keep going and not lose that momentum. Without it, it can be challenging to start.

In the end, was it worth it? A definite, YES!

Would I do it again… Yep, you guys will be seeing more of these challenges!

Whats Next For Me? 🔥

I’m planning to continue adding features to SaaSDojo. But on top of that, I started ANOTHER ship-in-public challenge TODAY where I launch an AI startup in 8 days (starting today until March 24), I'll be posting all the daily updates on my Twitter. But if you don't wanna keep up and just wanna read the learnings/mistakes, I'll be posting a detailed write-up on my personal newsletter