I'm Making Serious Progress.. (Day 2 & 3 Wrapped)

·

3 min read

Hey everyone!!

Peter here. Just doing a quick check in. I just wrapped up day 3 of the SaaS to Launch in 7-day challenge and I thought I would update you guys on what I've been working on! Sippin on a ice matcha latte will writing this..

I’m on Day 4 of challenge (Build a SaaS in 7 day) and here’s a quick recap of what I did for day 2 and day 3 and what I’m planning to work on for the next few days! (It's getting spicy..)

Day 2

Progress Made

On day two of the SaaS to launch challenge, I set up my Local and production environments. I implemented Tailwind CSS for dashboard design.

image of the design

I imported the Airtables API package for data retrieval.

image of the airtable setup

After some initial challenges, I was able to successfully retrieve data from Airtable and display it on the dashboard. (LFG!!!)

Challenges Faced

One challenge I faced while setting up the personal access token for the Airtable API was an issue with permissions.

Despite having admin permissions, I was getting an error indicating that I didn't have the right permissions. I had to switch to a different Airtable package to resolve the issue. (I spent 30 minutes trying to fix this)

pic of the stupid error i was getting

Additionally, I discovered that the Airtable API only allows 5 requests per second, which could potentially cause issues in the future. (Might consider implementing a cache for this if there is no other workaround)

Day 3

Progress Made

On day three, I was able to integrate the payment flow with the government and implement the code for verifying license keys.This was fairly simple in Gumroad and only took me 30 minutes to do (their API is amazing!)

picture of the license/pricing page I made in the app

I also added more sites to Airtable, including both the sign on and pricing pages for 20+ sites. I plan to add a lot more in the upcoming days..

image of the updated airtable :)

Additionally, I redesigned the dashboard using Tailwind UI - its cleaner now.

pic of the newest and (greatest) dashboard (at the moment) I didn’t get too much time to code on Day 3 so I will be GRINDING it out on the weekend to push to the finish-line.

Plans for the upcoming days

Moving forward, I plan to focus on improving the UX flow by implementing a feature where the image can pop out when the user clicks on it. Hopefully user's will like this UX a lot more.

I also plan to add more sites to Airtable and begin planning a marketing strategy for the product.

As alwasy, I'm sharing everything I'm building/learning on my Twitter so you can follow along with me on there!

Peace